September 12, 2011



The Honorable Jeb Hensarling Co-Chair, Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction 129 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Patty Murray Co-Chair, Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction 448 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Representative Hensarling, Senator Murray, and Members of the Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction,

As you begin your important work to reach a deficit reduction agreement, we urge you to "go big" and develop a large-scale debt reduction package sufficient to stabilize the debt as a share of the economy.

We believe that a go big approach that goes well beyond the \$1.5 trillion deficit reduction goal that the Committee has been charged with and includes major reforms of entitlement programs and the tax code is necessary to bring the debt down to a manageable and sustainable level, improve the long-term fiscal imbalance, reassure markets, and restore Americans' faith in the political system.

While we have differences of opinion about the specific policies that should be included in any plan, we all agree that a large-scale, multi-year debt stabilization package is necessary to deal with the fiscal challenges facing the nation.

Sincerely,

Barry Anderson Former Acting Director, Congressional Budget Office

The Honorable Roger Altman Founder and Chairman, Evercore Partners

Joe Antos

Wilson H. Taylor Scholar in Health Care and Retirement Policy, American Enterprise Institute

Bob Bixby

Executive Director, Concord Coalition

Erskine Bowles

Former Co-Chair, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform

The Honorable Charles Bowsher

Former Comptroller General of the United States

The Honorable William Brock Former Member of Congress

The Honorable John E. Chapoton

Former Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy, U.S. Department of the Treasury

Dave Cote

Former Member, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform; Chairman and CEO, Honeywell International

Pete Davis

President, Davis Capital Investment Ideas

The Honorable Peter Domenici Former Member of Congress

John Endean

President, American Business Conference

The Honorable Vic Fazio Former Member of Congress

The Honorable Martin Feldstein Former Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers

The Honorable William Frenzel Former Ranking Member, House Budget Committee; Co-Chair, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

Ann Fudge

Former Member, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform; Former CEO, Young & Rubicam Brands

William G. Gale Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

William A. Galston Senior Fellow and Ezra K. Zilkha Chair, Brookings Institution

The Honorable Bill Gradison Former Ranking Member, House Budget Committee

The Honorable Judd Gregg Former Chairman, Senate Budget Committee

Ron Haskins Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

Kevin Hassett Senior Fellow and Director of Economic Policy Studies, American Enterprise Institute

G. William Hoagland Former Staff Director, Senate Budget Committee

The Honorable Glenn Hubbard Former Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers; Dean, Columbia Business School

The Honorable Bob Kerrey Former Member of Congress **The Honorable Charles E.M. Kolb** President, Committee for Economic Development

The Honorable Jim Kolbe Former Member of Congress

Lawrence B. Lindsey President and CEO, The Lindsey Group; Former Director, National Economic Council

Maya MacGuineas President, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

The Honorable N. Gregory Mankiw Former Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers

Donald Marron Director, Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center; Former Acting Director, Congressional Budget Office

William Marshall President, Progressive Policy Institute

The Honorable James T. McIntyre, Jr. Former Director, Office of Management and Budget

Olivia S. Mitchell Economist

The Honorable Jim Nussle Former Director, Office of Management and Budget; Former Chairman, House Budget Committee; Co-Chair, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

The Honorable Paul O'Neill Former Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Treasury

Marne Obernauer, Jr. Chairman, Beverage Distributors Company

Rudolph G. Penner Former Director, Congressional Budget Office

The Honorable Timothy Penny

Former Member of Congress; Co-Chair, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

The Honorable Peter G. Peterson

Founder and Chairman, Peter G. Peterson Foundation; Former Secretary, Department of Commerce

The Honorable Alice Rivlin

Former Director, Congressional Budget Office; Former Director, Office of Management and Budget; Former Member, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform

The Honorable Charles Robb Former Member of Congress

Diane Lim Rogers Chief Economist, Concord Coalition

The Honorable Christina Romer

Former Chairwoman, Council of Economic Advisers

The Honorable Robert E. Rubin

Former Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Treasury

The Honorable Martin Sabo Former Chairman, House Budget Committee

Isabel V. Sawhill Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

Allen Schick Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland

Daniel N. Shaviro Wayne Perry Professor of Taxation, New York University School of Law

The Honorable George P. Shultz

Former Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Treasury; Former Secretary of the U.S. Department of State; Former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Labor

The Honorable Alan K. Simpson

Former Member of Congress; Co-Chair, National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform

Kent Smetters

Boettner Professor of Business and Public Policy, The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

The Honorable Charlie Stenholm

Former Member of Congress; Co-Chair, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

C. Eugene Steuerle

Institute Fellow and Richard B. Fisher Chair, Urban Institute

The Honorable John Tanner Former Member of Congress

The Honorable Laura D. Tyson

Former Chairwoman, Council of Economic Advisers; Former Director, National Economic Council

The Honorable Christine Todd Whitman Former Governor of New Jersey

The Honorable George Voinovich Former Member of Congress

The Honorable Paul Volcker Former Chairman, Federal Reserve System

Carol Cox Wait Former President, Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget

The Honorable David M. Walker Former Comptroller General of the United States

The Honorable John Vincent Weber Former Member of Congress

The Honorable Murray L. Weidenbaum Former Chairman, Council of Economic Advisers

The Honorable Joseph R. Wright, Jr.

Former Director, Office of Management and Budget

Mark Zandi

Chief Economist, Moody's Analytics

Identical letter sent to: The Honorable Max Baucus The Honorable John Kerry The Honorable Jon Kyl The Honorable Rob Portman The Honorable Pat Toomey The Honorable Pat Toomey The Honorable Dave Camp The Honorable James Clyburn The Honorable Fred Upton The Honorable Chris Van Hollen

cc: The Honorable John Boehner The Honorable Harry Reid, The Honorable Nancy Pelosi The Honorable Mitch McConnell